Six Sentence Sunday

Six Sentence Monday

I know it’s not Sunday, but I posted non-fiction yesterday, so I’m plunging into the deep end with some fiction today.

He was lost before the music ended.  Her delicate, but not fragile, hand disappeared in his, starting the nerves tingling all the way up his arm. His other hand covered over half of the small of her back, the warmth of which raised his heart rate to a level he hadn’t felt recently save in combat. Even worse, the crush of the dance floor drew them closer together than was truly proper; although the joyousness of the celebration cancelled the affront, it didn’t relieve the chaos swirling through him as they were inexorably pushed chest-to-chest by the crush. For his own sanity, and to have any hope of talking to this vision, finding out her name before she disappeared back into the dreamland from whence she came, he leaned down to her ear, savoring the excuse to inhale the spicy-sweet fragrance of her, “Let’s go outside for some air.” She tipped up on her toes to answer, “Yes, please,” totally unaware of what her sweet, warm breath on his face was doing to him.
2 thoughts on “Six Sentence Monday”

  1. Nice. Well done. To write a compelling scene in only 6 sentences is quite the undertaking. I’ve never done it, not sure that I could, but I sure did enjoy it–what a great writing exercise.

    Consider yourself stalked 🙂 I’ll be back around soon.

    1. Thanks for commenting on this, Angela. Although I’ve written fiction for years, I haven’t put much “out there.” Six sentences are a toe in the water, and since no one has shown up to take away my writer card, I may put a foot in next.

      The very short exercise is a good one for me–I have to make every word count. Thanks for stalking 🙂 Have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

